My “day off”…

Sometimes there’s this discord between my hubby and me…we are both competitive, Type A people which usually works well, but sometimes I feel like my feathers get ruffled by him. Normal in any long term partnership, I’m sure!

Today was my “day off work”, meaning I’m not at my paid job outside the home. However, I work just as hard, if not harder sometimes, in the home! Take today for example. I’ve spent several hours selecting and cleaning down all the items we are selling at Saturday’s car boot sale. 

However, I guess to him as he walks in the door, it looks as though the kids’ old toys have multiplied and thrown up all over the house! I’ve brought in all the old toys from the shed, where we were storing them because we ran out of room in the house. So, admittedly the place looks like a toy-bomb exploded but I can’t sell stuff that has years of dust all over it! (I’m Type A remember?) It must all be wiped clean with a damp cloth and soapy water and left on towels laid out to dry. 🙄

So he comes in and is full of how much he has to do this evening, and all I hear is blah, blah, blah. Like seriously, I have sh*t to get done too. But! I’m trying not to enter into the “I’ve got more to do, than you” argument so I swat those thoughts away. Instead, I am Miss Cranky Pants! I snap at him, then we he responds defensively, I tell him to stop being so short with me! 😂 And instead of being an adult and sharing with him that I might be at fault, I’ve shut myself in our bedroom and communicating with you lot instead!

What a fun day off! I’m almost looking forward to work tomorrow. 🤔

WG

5 thoughts on “My “day off”…

  1. suburbanbetty says:

    Awwww:( You must gather chocolates around you immediately for support! It is super easy to snap at your loved one. TOO EASY. I really have to reign myself in and the way I do it is to remind myself: This guy takes A LOT OF CRAP FROM ME. Seriously, so much. I’m a bit of a handful. I can let this go.
    It’s fine to wallow and decide whether you perhaps you were at fault, at least partially. If so, no problem going out later and apologizing after everyone cools down. I’ve done that more times than I can count!

    Like

Leave a Reply

