Letting go

  

Every year I do this in November, unintentionally, organically…I start to look around me and decide what I want to take with me into the new year ahead. But mostly, what I want to let go of. It’s kinda like Spring Cleaning, but it is more spiritual than the traditional definition. It comes from a desire to achieve balance and well being.

This whole year has been pretty painful to be honest and I will be glad to put it behind me. However, I understand that without these painful experiences, I wouldn’t be who I am today. And I like who I am becoming. I’m enjoying simple hobbies again…

…And this is guiding the “letting go” project I am undertaking at the moment. Most would call what I am doing, “decluttering” and in the past I did too. However, it seems more appropriate, gentler, softer somehow to use the term “letting go”. 

So far I have taken two car boot loads of my clothing, accessories and shoes and given them to charity. It’s a wee bit scary, because some of the items are still in great shape, but I am just not wearing them anymore for whatever reason. So out they have gone.

I’ve also donated most of my business books, as I am unlikely to need them again. That was a little sad, for I associated those with memories of starting my business – an exciting and hopeful time. 

The 4 bedrooms are the main areas I am practicing “letting go”. It’s feeling cathartic, as one would expect. I’ve taken photos so once it’s all done and redecorated also (which will most likely be by next November!), I can do before/after pictures.

It can be a huge project, and one most wouldn’t pick to do at this time of year, but I urge you to consider the amount of stuff (not just physical) you have in your life that could do with letting go of.

WG

4 thoughts on “Letting go

  1. ainsobriety says:

    When I donate clothes, etc that are still perfect (or unworn) I now get a real feeling of relief. Relief that I let something go that wasn’t for me, even if it is as insignificant as a printed shirt that I bought on a whim.

    It feels like an acknowledgement to myself that I am ok as I am. I don’t need to conform or change

    Like

Leave a Reply

