Shaky ground

I went for a run on Sunday (today is Tuesday) and oh my calf muscles! It was my first run in a few weeks and so of course, I felt good out there and ran the furthest I ever have. I knew I might be a wee bit sore so stretched lots afterwards but obviously not enough for my calves. 

So tonight I’ve taken magnesium and I did a “yoga with Adriene” workout – I’m doing the 30 days of yoga again since I loved it so much the first time round. It’s really impressive how much I have gained in my flexibility already!

When I went to visit my potential new workplace before I decided to accept the job there, the women mentioned that they have their 500 calorie days…well, I thought they were joking so of course laughed and proceeded to turn up with a full lunchbox consisting of a cheese sandwich and a variety of snacks. During my first day, I had to ignore my stomach positively crying at me for food all morning as the hours passed and no one ate. Finally at 1:00, my boss declared she just had to eat or something bad was going to happen. ‘Thank goodness’ I thought, ‘she is normal after all’ . I tried not to appear too eager as we sat down for lunch and I got stuck into my sandwich. Sensing her eyes on me, I looked up at her watching me with a slightly amused look on her face. She daintily ate her tiny pot of yoghurt, followed by a kiwi fruit. I barely registered though, because I was starving and went back to stuffing my face with dairy and carbs.

Two weeks into the job, I’ve realised they were serious about 500 calorie days. I cannot believe how little they eat!   It can’t be good for blood sugar levels surely? Still, I believe there’s a middle ground. I’m putting weight on again due to eating basically whatever I want but now I’m working I don’t have as much time for running. So today I took in my carrot and celery sticks, nuts and seeds and a banana. I felt satisfied but not bloated and sluggish – perfect. 

In other news, we had a short, sharp earthquake here in New Zealand last night. No damage. Just a reminder to us kiwis why we are dubbed the ‘shaky isles’. It was a good reminder that life is short and precious. It’s a waste to live it unhappily. I’m committed to doing everything I can to get myself out of this dark hole I’m in…and I believe it’s working. I’m still on shaky ground, but I’m finding my strength bit by bit, every day. I hope you are living your version of a happy life?

WG

2 thoughts on “Shaky ground

  1. Anonymous says:

    Sounds like ” how to control people with food or lack of” I’ve never heard of this in the workplace! I hope you’re feeling better.

    Like

  2. ainsobriety says:

    I think having any sort of eating rules in a workplace is unacceptable.
    I lived many years on 500 calories. As a disordered eater it seemed ok.
    But it isn’t. And encouraging it as part of a work commitment is pretty much emotional harassment.

    Hunger is a big issue in recovery. Don’t let the pressure to conform to some crazy eating scheme bring you down.

    Sorry if this sounds serious. Eating and food are big issues for me and it makes me sad to see a boss inflict her own problems on her staff.

    Anne

    Like

Leave a Reply

