Yoga progress check in

So, it’s a little embarrassing to admit but I cannot touch my toes. I have very tight hips, IT band, hamstrings, you name it, I’m tight! Not only can I not touch my toes, but when I sit on the floor, I can’t even sit up straight with my legs straight out in front of me, let alone split wide. Not without losing the integrity of a long, straight back anyways. I always end up curving, hunched, and collapsed. So in classes, I get to sit on a block or book while everyone else in the class has no issue with this at all. It’s been pretty frustrating.

It occurred to me today that you may think I’m already bendy, because only bendy people do Yoga, right? Wrong. I do Yoga and as you now know, I am NOT bendy. But look at this progress photo after two weeks of doing Yoga every day. That’s a lot of gain for a little daily effort, I reckon! I wonder, can I touch my toes on Day 30?

  

Formal Apology: I’m sorry for the lack of attention to my toenails. I promise to pretty them up for a Day 30 photo. 

WG

5 thoughts on “Yoga progress check in

  1. ainsobriety says:

    I teach yoga and I’m not overly bendy. But I’m definitely way more bendy than I was before I began yoga!
    Sitting on a block is good for everyone. It forces you to bend from your hips.
    Nice progress already!

    Like

  2. Water Girl NZ says:

    I’m becoming more and more interested in the idea of teaching yoga. To do that I would surely at least need to touch my toes! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Thank you for the progress compliment. Xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

