Day 30, Easter Sunday and the Realisation of the Ego’s Ruling

First of all, let me take a moment to celebrate 30 days!!!!!! *doing a victory dance*

 

I’ve had such a truly fulfilling day! Admittedly it started earlier than I would have liked. Our clocks went back an hour here in New Zealand but when you have kids, that does NOT mean you get an extra hour in bed. It means being woken up at 5:30am not 6:30am! 

But hey, no hangover to contend with these days, so outta bed I got, pretty happy, and watched them follow all my Easter Egg Hunt clues around the house. 

  

That was really fun! Seeing their delighted wee faces as they worked out each clue and collected two small eggs at each point! Sober as a judge, the night before I created and wrote out the clues and placed them all over the house, with the eggs. I’m actually really proud of that. But secretly of course, because Easter Bunny did it all, you see!

So with chocolate in their bellies, we gathered the kids and their bike and scooter and hubby and I took them to our local bike track for a (very) early morning run. It was pretty busy at that hour! Who knew so many people don’t use a long weekend as an excuse to drink more?! 

  

When we got back home I jumped onto YouTube to do Day 6 of my 30 Day Yoga challenge with Adriene. She is such a cool chick, so down to earth and a cute sense of humour! If you want to do it, just click here and be taken directly to day one.

We had my parents over for lunch, roast chicken and a tonne of vegetables, followed by cheese and crackers. Delicious! It was an enjoyable few hours. Especially wonderful to see my Dad healing really well after his prostate operation. 

Once they had left, I was cleaning up all the dishes and finishing listening to The Bubble Hour’s ‘Beyond Our Best Thinking – Surrendering the Ego in Recovery‘. Wow, it was deep and I will have to listen to it a few times to understand it fully but holy moly, it was POWERFUL. 

I was thinking about my SIL and that whole situation mainly, because she (I’ve just recently realised is a narcissist) is totally ego driven. The way she has shut me out, won’t accept my offers of help anymore, etc. all driven by the ego. Here’s some quick notes I scribbled toward the end of listening: 

I don’t have to control the SIL situation, I don’t have to fix it. I just need to accept the powerlessness and accept things as they are. Things will end up how they are supposed to. And I just have to trust that.
When I have acceptance, I have serenity. Maybe I need to borrow from the serenity prayer?
My ego is the one that drives the crazy, anxiety creating thoughts. 
Tell the ego to SHUT UP. I cannot control people, places or things. Period. 

It feels really good. For today, this moment at least, I feel at peace. I’ve accepted it for what it is. I wish you all a very wonderful moment of peace, wherever you are.

  

WG

7 thoughts on “Day 30, Easter Sunday and the Realisation of the Ego’s Ruling

  1. Me Without Wine says:

    Happy Easter and Happy Day 30!!! And you are able to enjoy Easter morning with your children hangover free! Those days of Easter eggs for my kiddos are done, except for I was able to hide eggs Thursday for my special needs students at the middle school I where I work.
    I’m going to listen to that Bubble Hour episode today. Enjoy your day!

    Liked by 1 person

      • Me Without Wine says:

        I took a long walk and listened to the podcast. Yes there was a lot in it! Very thought provoking. I know as far as myself goes, my ego gets in the way of my sharing with close friends that I am not drinking. It is a part of my life I keep closed off from everyone, because I kept how much I was actually drinking from everyone. So now, I am nervous of how they will feel about me, even though they really are good people. Before it was shame of how much I drank. Now if I admit to quitting, what will they think. I have to get past this because I will find myself in a situation where I might accept a drink if I can’t come up with some flimsy excuse for not drinking. Crazy huh!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Just a Running Chick says:

    Happy Easter!

    There’s a famous story about change: When I was a young man, I wanted to change the world.

    I found it was difficult to change the world, so I tried to change my nation.

    When I found I couldn’t change the nation, I began to focus on my town.

    I couldn’t change the town, so I tried to change my family.

    Now, as an old man, I know the only thing I can change is myself.

    And suddenly I realize that if long ago I had changed myself, I could have made an impact on my family.

    My family and I could have made an impact on our town.

    Their impact could have changed the nation and I could indeed have changed the world.

    Like

Leave a Reply

