Day 23 funk

I’m very irritable today. I’m in some sort of funk and just feel meh, about everything. On the outside it has been a nice day. After being woken at different times by two different kids overnight I slept until 8:20am (that never happens!) I got up, slowly got myself together and hubby went off to play football (soccer). 

My 9YO is still recovering from his operation but is at the stage of feeling well enough to do more than stay at home all day. So I threw his scooter and my youngest’s bike in the car and we took off for some exercise. I felt good while I was out. In fact, I realise as I’m writing this, it’s the best I’ve felt all day.

  

We got home, I showered, hubby got home, and he showered. We all then went to my parent’s house as my Dad is recovering from his prostate op. It went ok for the first 20 minutes or so but then the kids were winding each other up, bickering, annoying everyone so we left. We stopped for dinner on the way home at a local pub that also does beautiful food. I ordered the vegetarian Moroccan stew (I’m not a vegetarian, but just didn’t fancy meat) and when it came to ordering a drink with the meal, I got stuck. I really fancied a glass of red! It would have gone really really really nicely with the amazing, gently spiced stew I was about to enjoy. I certainly didn’t want anything fizzy, I don’t drink beer (obviously except when I feel like I’m missing out on something – see my previous post!) and a tea or coffee – yeah, nah. 

On a day like today when I feel tired and a bit meh, I would have drank probably a bottle (and a half maybe) of red wine. Purely to escape the tired and meh feelings. To escape my boring housewife life. But I can’t and won’t do that anymore. So I’m going to listen to a guided meditation and then go to sleep. And hopefully tomorrow will be a better day.

WG

2 thoughts on “Day 23 funk

  1. sobrietychick says:

    I hope today is better for you. You’re not alone, I was in a funk all of last week and almost drove myself crazy! You are aware of your thoughts and feelings and you didn’t let the funk pull you back in and you didn’t give up your sobriety. That makes me feel happy for you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

